Make a Reservation

Testimonial

 
  • Exceptional

    Jun 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Perfect location. Can’t say much more as we were only there one night. Checked in late and left to play golf right up the road at Coyote Moon fairly early. Breakfast was good enough to get me going and the room was nice and clean.

     
  • Overall, a great stay!

    Oct 2018 | Booking.com guest review

    I liked everything really, from the nice friendly staff to a great breakfast in the morning. The room was very clean, and the bed was nice, and comfy. The lodge itself was conveniently located to shopping, gas stations etc. Overall it was a great experience, and I definitely will be back.

     
  • Awesome

    Dec 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Clean, spacious room with fireplace. Good value compared to other properties in Truckee area.

     
  • Exceptional

    Feb 2019 | Booking.com guest review

    Nice lodge, good value for money… Close to skiing resorts in the area. The staff was nice and welcoming.

     
  • Exceptional

    Dec 2018 | Booking.com guest review

    Friendly staff, and a nice hot coco and coffee machine which is available for use 24hrs. Great location for easy access to Northstar and Downtown Truckee. Clean and spacious rooms.

     
  • Clean, easy access to Donner Park

    Jul 2017 | Trip Advisor guest review

    We have stayed here a couple times, and it is a good choice when in the area. It isn’t right in town, though, if that matters to you. Both times we had a room overlooking the park which is a nice change from the ‘usual’ parking lot when you’re driving cross country. But walking the area (literally next door to the hotel) is a must if you’ve read or listened to the unabridged book on Audible as we did driving.

     
  • Good highway hotel with great access to Tahoe and Reno

    Jun 2018 | Trip Advisor guest review

    Truckee Donner Lodge is located on the I-80 from Sacramento to Reno, about a 35-min drive from Reno. Tahoe City is a 20-min drive and Donner Lake is only minutes away, so the location of the hotel is great. The hotel itself was quite nice, too – the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds.

     
  • Convenient location and comfortable rooms

    Aug 2018 | Trip Advisor guest review

    This hotel is situated on the edge of town easily accessed from the highway. Close to restaurants as well as Lake Tahoe, it’s a great choice for a great price. A pool is on-site and breakfast is included too making it a family friendly option.

     
  • Very comfortable stay.

    Nov 2018 | Booking.com guest review
    Great stay for the price! Very clean, spacious. Staff very friendly. Breakfast is standard. I would definitely return here.

     
  • Outstanding “Excellent hotel after a day on the hill!”

    Feb 6, 2016 | Hotels.com guest review

    My 8 friends and I stayed here after snowboarding at Sugar Bowl Resort. It was 15 minutes away, and right next to downtown Truckee. After a day on the hill all you want is a huge hot tub and a good meal. Downtown Truckee did not disappoint. We also ran into some locals in the hot tub that gave us some fantastic ski hill recommendations and restaurants in town and bars! My only complaint was that the breakfast was not big enough to handle the crowd. They had hot, fresh food, but they did it in batches and she couldn’t keep up with the demand. Are Omelets and pancakes the best way to serve a crowd? Not really. That being said, there were a lot of options, cereal, muffins, English muffin, toast, instant oatmeal. They just need to make this sitting area larger to accommodate everyone and work on the flow of the breakfast area.

     
  • Outstanding

    Feb 4, 2016 | Hotels.com guest review
    Great place for the snow season!

     
  • “For Years Our Truckee Favorite Lodge”

    Lynn M  | 5of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Jan 2016)

    We were in Truckee for our family Christmas gathering again this year.
    We always stay the Truckee Donner Lodge. Have for years. It’s clean, clean, clean, very well run/managed, with a friendly helpful staff and you can’t beat the location.
    It’s an easy on/off I-80, close to all the winter ski areas in Tahoe, and besides winter skiing ~ it’s a perfect location for Truckee Summer Farmers Markets, concerts on the shores of Lake Tahoe, Summer Shakespeare at Sand Point Harbor, hiking, biking, shopping in charming western historical downtown Truckee.
    The Truckee Donner Lodge rooms are very comfortable, nicely appointed ~ making it a perfect place to end a day of outdoor exercise and fun.

     
  • “Quiet and amazing place!”

    Charan Reddy E | 5of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Jan 2016)

    We stayed in a 2 Queen room and the stay was fantastic. Downtown Truckee is just minutes away. We reached the hotel on a snowy day and the view from the room was amazing. Reception area had free tea/coffee and hot chocolate.

    I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet and cozy accommodation away from all the hustle buzzle of South Lake Tahoe.

     
  • “Spot On”

    CCandWH | 5 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)
    We really enjoyed our one night stay in this hotel. The staff were friendly and informative. The decor is as pictured on their website. Very tidy room and we loved the wildlife silhouette light fitting on the ceiling. The hotel is not walking distance from the main street of Truckee, but only a few minutes drive. If you are a train enthusiast, as we are, you can stand at the driveway and look across at the trains going through Donner Pass. Drive downtown and train spot to your heart’s content, if there’s a train coming. We have visited Truckee before and the only trains we saw were very late at night, but worth the wait. Continental breakfast at the hotel was very pleasant.

     
  • “Great Gateway For Nordic Skiing”

    Edward K | 5 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)

    Royal Gorge XC Ski is about a half hour away and Tahoe Donner XC Ski is about fifteen minutes away. The location of the inn affords easy access to Paco’s XC Ski Shop, great Mexican and Italian restaurants (La Bamba and Village Pizzeria) and all the other great restaurants of Truckee. The inn is very comfortable and quite. The staff at the front desk and the housekeeping staff have almost all been there for many years and their service is excellent. John Bordin, the manage, is committed to your having the most satisfying stay as possible. I always look forward to returning to the Truckee Donner Lodge for my cross country adventures.

     
  • “What a Great Place!”

    RubyS959 | 4 of 5 stars |  From TripAdvisor (reviewed Feb 2016)

    Using Tripadvisor, I researched places to stay near Truckee for just an overnight and Truckee Donner Lodge was highly recommended! No kidding! It was a nice, small place, warm and cozy! The rooms were VERY comfortable and quiet! The nice continental breakfast helped us get through the morning! The lodge was only 2 minutes from the Donnor Pass National Park! It really was a very pleasant stay – one thing though – the parking. If you don’t park your car early enough… you might not find parking close to the lodge. Otherwise – I would definitely stay again!

     
 
 
 

A great time to visit Truckee is now!

Fantastic hiking, biking, shopping, eating, walking, swimming, boating, and so many outdoor recreational opportunities are here for your summer time activities. Come stay at the Truckee Donner Lodge!